NCAA hockey tournament scores & highlights

The road to the Frozen Four starts now.

The 2018 men’s hockey tournament is here, with 16 teams vying for the right to go to the Frozen Four in Minnesota to battle for the championship.

St. Cloud State is the No. 1 overall seed, and has the top spot in the West Region in Sioux Falls. Other No. 1 seeds are Notre Dame, Cornell, and Ohio State.

Defending national champion Denver beat St. Cloud State in the NCHC conference tournament final to earn a seat in the NCAA hockey tournament, and is the No. 2 seed in the Midwest Region behind Ohio State.

Clarkson got at at-large bid out of the ECAC and is the No. 3 seed in the East Region, their 21st NCAA appearance, but first since 2008. Princeton won the ECAC conferent tournament is back in the NCAA tourney for the first time since 2009, as a No. 4 seed in the Midwest.

The ESPN family of networks will televise all 15 games of the tournament, with online streaming available through Watch ESPN. In Canada every game will be streamed by TSN Go, with the championship game televised by TSN2.


The NCAA men’s hockey tournament features a 16-team field split into four regions, playing a single-elimination format. The 16 teams will be reduced to just four over three days from March 23-25, followed by the Frozen Four to be held at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minnesota.


West Region
Denny Sanford Premier Center, Sioux Falls, SD

  1. St. Cloud State

  2. Minnesota State-Mankato

  3. Minnesota-Duluth

  4. Air Force

Northeast Region
DCU Center, Worcester, MA

  1. Cornell

  2. Michigan

  3. Northeastern

  4. Boston

Midwest Region
PPL Center, Allentown, PA

  1. Ohio State

  2. Denver

  3. Penn State

  4. Princeton

East Region
Webster Bank Arena, Bridgeport, CT

  1. Notre Dame

  2. Providence

  3. Clarkson

  4. Michigan Tech


Bracket courtesy of NCAA

Schedule & results

All times ET

Friday, March 23
No. 1 Notre Dame 4, Michigan Tech 3 (OT)
No. 4 Air Force 4, No. 1 St. Cloud State 1
No. 2 Providence vs. No. 3 Clarkson, 6:30 p.m. (ESPNU)
No. 2 Minnesota State vs. No. 3 Minnesota-Duluth, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN3)

Saturday, March 24
No. 1 Cornell vs. No. 4 Boston, 1 p.m. (ESPNews)
No. 1 Ohio State vs. No. 4 Princeton, 3:30 p.m. (ESPNU)
No. 2 Michigan vs. No. 3 Northeastern, 4:30 p.m. (ESPNews)
East regional final: Notre Dame vs. Providence/Clarkson, 6 p.m. (ESPNU)
No. 2 Denver vs. No. 3 Penn State, 7 p.m. (ESPN3)
West regional final: St. Air Force vs. Minnesota State/Minnesota-Duluth, 9 p.m. (ESPN2)

Sunday, March 25
Northeast regional final: Cornell/Boston vs. Michigan/Northeastern, 4 p.m. (ESPN2)
Midwest regional final: Ohio State/Princeton vs. Denver/Penn State, 6:30 p.m. (ESPNU)

Frozen Four

Thursday, April 5
Semifinal 1, 6 p.m. (ESPN2)
Semifinal 2, 9:30 p.m. (ESPN2)

Sunday, April 7
Championship game, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN, TSN2)